Fans Hobby: Arch Enemy Review.

archenemy_edited-1

Looks like Fans Hobby came out swinging with top notch QC for Archenemy. When I got him out of the box the first words out of my mouth was ‘massive’ He’s a MP plus sizer reader. Meaning you will not be disappointed if you’re stickler like me for solid QC, detail and appearance.

Good and Bad

Bad

The only bad thing about Archenemy he cannot do action figure poses. due to how his robust build he’s slightly above average in the pose down department. To be clear he can hold poses, but he’s not the one for action poses. Perhaps later down the line I will do pictures of him beating up autobots. Maybe doing a sfx gallery of him laying the smack down on Prime, Jazz and Blaster perhaps that can be his it factor?

Archenemy (2)
He does look odd running…I don’t think he’s the running type.

Good

Lot’s of good about Archenemy, rock solid diecast, ratchets and tough plastic to top it off. I love the cool color coordination on his body in vehicle mode and bot mode also. And the tires are rubber, Fans Hobby added that in for a touch of realism.

For the rest of the review I will start with what you need to know about transformation.

Press and collapse legs to transform Archenemy into his diesel truck

Archenemy (10)
Click zoom to see the button: This is what you have to press and collapse legs to transform.
Archenemy (11)
Here’s a better picture of what I am talking about.

In alt mode Archenemy is a beast in vehicle mode. Sleek black paint job. In natural light it gives off a nice gloss reflection, again hats off to Fans Hobby for the nice paint job on this figure.

Bot Mode

Bot mode I gave Archenemy a nick name ‘shoulders’. Hey they’re exaggerated I figured I should be the first to tease on it a bit. The shoulders doesn’t have clearance issues. Due to the transformation you can manipulate them to have full range of 360 movement.

Archenemy (15)
90 degree bend
Archenemy (16)
90 degree at the knees
Archenemy (17)
For extra credit you get a slight ab scrunch

As for the head articulation full three sixty movement. Also he can look up and down. That’s pretty much standard for third party mp size figures these days, that’s why I didn’t take any pictures of it.

Fyi

You can only store his beautiful red sword on his shoulders.

Archenemy (19)
Also you can close these ports if your heart desires. They are on the right and left shoulders
Archenemy (20)
Here’s what it looks like stored on his back.

His truck back ‘pack’ does not hinder his ability to hold a solid pose at all. His weight takes care of all of that. Also I forgot to mention that his knees are double jointed. Specifically you can bend his leg at two places ( shown in picture above.).

Archenemy has really grown on me while I was shooting him.

I decided to make him the stand in leader of the Decepticons till FT Sovereign arrives.

Archenemy more 015
Enter a caption

I don’t know I know kinda like this duo myself.

Do I Recommend him?

It depends on taste, hope that you’re not  a snooty G1 stickler. As already know about my taste. It’s the QC, detail and appearance. Having him in hand sealed the deal on my decision to keep this heavy figure in my collection. Hey I rolled the dice and seven what can I say. In addition I like to thank Dr. Killinger of GCIToys for shipping this fast to me. Furthermore it looks like FansToy has some competition. I don’t recommend him for G1 sticklers and shelf collectors. If you’re the collector that displays and plays, you can’t go wrong with Archenemy. Now if my review on him won you over stop by GciToys and pick Archenemy up for a reasonable price. Dr. Killinger will meet your third party needs.

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

