African Descent Male Characters Only

Writing Seasons of Pain was ‘tough’. The biggest hill to conquer is writing for Adalious. Adalious is one complex character to write for. But the hardest part was making him believable betwixt a unique man. What I did was ‘not’ follow whole hardheartedly the advice authors are giving to write a male lead. In my opinion it seemed too cookie cutter and ‘lily’ white.

I will not have the ‘white male’ in the spot light in my work ever. The reason why runs deep betwixt to why I don’t read nor buy books for pleasure reads anymore, sick to the death of the lily white faces on covers. In addition the lack luster research on majority of white authors writing black characters. At times they get  it all wrong and you can tell African Descent character is poorly researched. I will let you in on a secret and a brief history lesson at the same time. First let’s start with the history lesson. Adamo (Adam) was created in Africa right? And all life started in Africa right? In Seasons of Pain going by history, the first supernatural was African heritage and therefore majority of Supernaturals ( Mainly Psychics) are African descent. Therefore I  am happy to say you will not see African Descents in my work portrayed as ‘American step and fetch it’ characters. To clarify majority of the ‘men’ will be powerful, smart and very wise in their work. In addition you will not hear them saying the n word or calling a female a bitch (unless she deserves  it , a feminist or Hilary crook Clinton.). Before you go off saying or thinking, what about the African Descent Woman. I will write them one day. On the other hand you got enough African Descent Women getting the spot light over African Descent Male writers, who are better writers than them. Now back to the topic.

To set my African Descent characters apart it forces the reader to see them as they are as a character. Giving them stereotype nature will distract the reader and run the risk of pissing off my audience. And that my friends I do not want to do. I actually talked to some African Descent readers about reading my book. To my amazement very few of them are  not horror fans. I asked them why, they responded by saying these words.

  • Tired of seeing a brutha viewed as weak.
  • Hate seeing ‘black characters’ side kicks
  • Tired of seeing a good black character die in horror books.

I told them I don’t cater to Americas grand past time of disrespecting African Descents in literature. Some of them gave Seasons a try others were skeptical and I don’t blame them either. Let’s face it how many African Descents male main characters have you seen on the cover on a NY times bestselling book?

Which reminds me to tell all of you that Seasons of Pain got labeled urban fantasy, eh urban horror, something along those lines in some reviews. At first I was very naive about it and let it slide. I was under the impression urban horror meant a new wave of horror aka none traditional horror. Well I was so wrong there lol. I did some research on it to get the real meaning of the ‘urban’ label. The first hit I got what urban horror means, YA horror for kids to get into instead doing the lame Stephen King way of doing cookie cutter horror. When I dug deeper and found what it really means. Urban Horror, Urban Fiction or anything with that goddamn Urban in it , is a slick way of the publishing company betwixt America  being racist.

According to (2015, Guardian) Jeffery Renard Allen, Literature is ghettoized by placing authors in categories.  Furthermore (2015, Guardian) in this contradicting country race is everywhere in our society and even in literature.

The question I am asking myself perhaps Seasons of Pain got that bullshit ‘urban’ slapped on it because Adalious, Jesse’s love interest is African Descent? Factoring in what Mr. Allen stated in the article I read. I believe it goes a little further than what he’s talking about. Quick clarification here, maybe just maybe it’s a covert way to warn certain readers that S.O.P has a African Descent in it?

I am not going to blame nor get mad at reviewers, for their sake they may have just used the label urban because Seasons of Pain is geared up for the Young Adult crowd. After reading the reviews again, the reviewers are completely innocent of calling Seasons of Pain Urban. As a matter of fact the young reviewers called it urban. The older reviewers just called S.O.P action horror or horror.

Time will tell if the lame ‘urban’ pops up often when Seasons of Pain two is on the Market.

Conclusion

Conclusion: I have come to the conclusion when it comes to racism, this country knows no bounds at all. My solution is to distance my work from this country and here’s why. Americas’ weak elite along with the false Semitic families that run the entertainment industry and own a great deal of publishing companies, fan the flames of racism. Because they profit off of racism, making African Descents stereotypes to African Descents are suppose to be viewed as entertainers, singers or some idiot running with a ball. As for characters in books, shit African Descent characters are still seen as revolutionary, or something new!!! Now this shocks the hell out of me. It’s 2016 why is a African Descent character is still viewed as something new and exotic in books? This is a question betwixt rage I will get into for my next blog.

 

 

Works Cited

Gaurdian. (2015). Black Characters Are Still Revolutionary. The Gaurdian, 1.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

